Jolly Good Gardening

7 Apr

One of our raised beds is finished! I’ve named this one Bertha and it’s closet to the steps leading to our back door. I’m really proud of this bed because it turned out to be more work than I expected with a layer of dense clay, pebbles everywhere, grass, remainders from the previous flowers I removed with a vengeance, and one hefty root that I sawed in half with a tactical knife and pulled out with my bare hands. Mwahahaha!

But really, I’m glad it’s done and I can move on to the next one. Here are some close-ups of the darling things.

The beautiful salvia.

This is May Night Salvia. They’re gorgeous purple stocks with vibrant green leaves and they’ll grow to be almost two feet tall, which will work well to cover some the ugly brick behind them. They’re mounding perennials which means they’ll return next year and they’ll grow in the shape of a big ball of color. They’re water wise so they don’t require much care after establishment and they attract butterflies and hummingbirds. They’re not very fragrant.

The boldest wallflower I've ever seen.

These are Fragrant Sunshine Wallflowers. They’ll grow upright in stocks and will reach around 18 inches, which should layer well with the Salvia. They smell wonderful and are also water wise, attracting butterflies and hummingbirds…and also Marco as I caught him in the bed right after planting them.

Little, leaping Lantana.

The smallest flowers in the bed are Lantanas which will leap one day to 12-20 inches. They’re mounding perennials like the Salvia but actually, I’ve found they don’t do so well after the first year. Anyway, these are famous butterfly bushes and they’re also water wise.

I have some more good news for those of you following the bookcase dilemma. It looks like I can finally finish it tomorrow with some help from Hubs. Hooray!

2 Responses to “Jolly Good Gardening”

  1. Hannah April 7, 2011 at 11:00 pm #

    lantana get humongous!! the key is to cut them back to the ground really well once fall hits, and then they shoot up even bigger with each passing year. i have one by my front door that was in a small pot in 2008 and now in the summer it is so huge i have to walk around it!

    • Intrepid Girl April 8, 2011 at 12:59 am #

      That’s what my parents do too and they just don’t always bloom as pretty from year to year…though that could be because they have a dog who eats them.

Leave a Reply

