Coming Soon: A Very Late Peek into this Week

2 May

I haven’t done a teaser post in a long time and I thought it was about time to bring it back. I don’t normally blog on Mondays; instead I usually clean for most of the day and take some time to research and write. Since Hubs is going to be late getting home today, though, I thought I’d use the time to announce some things.

Only have two planned happenings for this week so far. One, I’m going to be showing you my brand new and very small vegetable garden. If you’re not a gardener (yet), mine will not in any way embarrass or guilt you into starting something. It’s pretty humble for the moment.

Two, I’ll be launching a new project page which I’m calling The Brilliant Catalog. Where this part of my blogging is way more general and probably only appeals to people who actually know me, the catalog will be a sweeping catch-all for things that inspire me in art, science, religion, and some other things that make me feel vulnerable and impassioned. It’s mainly something I’m trying to boost how much time I actually spend on my craft. I think visually creating  a space to see these things and talk about them will make me more likely to weave them into writing. It should be fun so I’m pretty excited!

I’ll also be doing some community round-up for a book club I’m starting this week. It’ll be focused on Twenty-somethings and an exploration of contemporary literature in all its forms. I’m nervous but if I find even a couple good members, it’ll be really rewarding for me.

For now, I have some pictures to share for the Marco fans.

A face his mama loves to death.

For those of you who don’t know him, here’s his story: Hubs and I picked out Marco from an animal shelter when he was only a few months old. We don’t know for sure if he was a rescue or if someone just brought him there for decency’s sake but when we brought him home, he liked to hide under things. He would only come out from under the coffee table to eat or pounce on Luca so we named him Marco Polo (because we had to play a little hide and seek to find him, get it?). As he grew up, Will and I noticed two unusual things: one, there was a stripe expanding right down the middle of his nose and two, he wasn’t a very active puppy. When he was around five or six months old, we took him to the vet in concern for his reluctance to go on walks and told the vet that he seemed like he was hurting. The vet gave him a quick physical exam and chalked it up to growing pains which are common in large breed dogs.

Well, after Will and I picked him up from the vet where we boarded him for the wedding, Marco came home and played too hard in the yard. He collapsed and we couldn’t move or touch him without hurting him. We knew it was serious when he whined because he’d never done it before, no matter how much he seemed uncomfortable. A couple x-rays later and the vet confirmed that Marco had a rare condition in which he was born without hip sockets. A consult with a surgeon gave us only one option: an FHO operation that would remove one of his ball joints and stop the pain in that leg. With a whole bunch of loving prayers and donations from friends and family and even some people we’d never met, Marco had the surgery within a month of his diagnosis and started to recover pretty quickly. Today he’s still a little lazy but he can run and play when he wants to without pain or discomfort and the whole journey has definitely been worth it.

Okay, I mentioned last week that Hubs and I volunteer together at the Humane Society and it was there that we learned just how fortunate Marco was to meet us. Black dogs are usually the last to be adopted from shelters and are often put down or left in the care of shelter volunteers for years, some living their whole lives in a kennel as we saw was the case with one unlucky girl at our local center. Among animal adoption circles, this phenomenon is called the Black Dog Syndrome.

Black dogs are hard to photograph because their features tend to blend in and for some reason, they automatically look more aggressive or undesirable to potential adopters. However, dogs don’t know how they look to humans or even how they sound and some of these not-so breathtaking animals are the perfect companions. Marco, for example, has more markings than the average black dog but his colors indicate an aggressive breed which couldn’t be less true of him. While he may be intimidating to look at and even sounds a bit scary with his deep bark and a growl that he uses to talk to everyone, Marco is a bit of a Ferdinand. He loves all people and is gentle with other dogs and especially children. Oh, how he loves kids, even teeny-tiny ones that hold on to him while they learn to walk. I’ve seen him smell and lick and a baby’s fingers before. He doesn’t know that he looks scary, he just has a gentle heart.

I take a lot of photos of our boy because in a way, he’s the perfect spokesdog for shelter animals and especially black dogs. He’s a dog that probably very few people would have taken on, much less likely that they would have invested hundreds of dollars in medical care for him, but he’s a perfect and sweet dog who really only wants to please and be hugged…and occasionally eat inappropriate things. Dogs like Luca who are beautiful and energetic are easy to love but if you can learn to love a Marco, there’s a really deep reward.

In some ways, he’s even more beautiful and precious to me than our Aussie Princess.

Remember, black dogs need love too.

2 Responses to “Coming Soon: A Very Late Peek into this Week”

  1. Hannah May 3, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    awww that is the sweetest face i’ve ever seen!!! i love that 1st picture! itd be a great black & white framed. we learned about the black dog phenomenon in one of my psych classes, and it was why my professor had like 4 of them because she couldn’t stand them being put down. so so sad. it also happens a whooooole lot with black cats too — they never get adopted because theyre considered “bad luck” and jinxed.

    also i’d LOVE to join your book club!! i was just asking for suggestions of books on facebook yesterday because i have been dyinggg to get back into reading for fun again! member 1!! 🙂

    ps: i am totally telling Luca you said that! 😉 hahah

    • Intrepid Girl May 3, 2011 at 11:04 am #

      I’m starting the book club in town but you can definitely start a chapter in Goldsboro! 😀 I’m toying with the idea of using Facebook to correspond with people in other towns who are interested in joining the discussions. I could post the questions/topics we’ll discuss in our meeting and then I could post our comments and feelings in response to those questions. People in other towns could do the same.

      Anyway, I just set-up a Facebook account for the group…which is probably a little premature…but you can look it up: twenty-something reads.

Leave a Reply

