Home and Life Improvements

14 Jul

I have to tell you, I suffered one of the worst days I’ve had in months yesterday. Despite all the positive steps and plans I’ve made to reach my goals, I just can’t predict how my body is going to act anymore..and that’s okay. I was in some serious pain and feeling extremely emotional but in the moment, I was actually a little grateful that I had the opportunity to start learning how to cope so soon after deciding that’s what I need. I learned that having a perfect diet occasionally won’t deter feeling like the devil lives in my head and the only thing I can do is take a hot bath, block out the noise, and just lie with a good book and something lavender scented. (Okay, just this one time, I’m going to say something that can be construed as self-pitying and then we’ll move on. If your body regulates itself in a healthy manner, routinely preventing migraines, nausea, and nutrient-related mood swings/anxiety attacks, you go ahead and give it a big hug. Indulge in dessert for lunch, slack a little at the gym, sleep in, and otherwise love your body a little more.)  Anyway, I beat the Sugar Monster and today I took a victory lap.

As part of our adjusting for Will’s promotion, we made a small allotment for home improvements…which we didn’t actually have before. Basically, I have $20 every two weeks to make little upgrades here and there. Today I went to the craft store to pick up some supplies for a friend’s gift and while I was there, I got inspired to fix our vase situation.

You remember the vase situation, right?

At first I wasn’t sure if I liked them so I took votes and…well, you actually told me to get rid of them. But I didn’t because for some reason, I believed in the vases. I thought with some better inserts and maybe something to raise them, they’d look good. And you know what? They do look a lot better.

I don’t know if I would call them perfect and I’ll probably play with them a little more but I think I can officially declare them “good enough.”

The best news is that those boxes are filled with DVD’s (36 to be exact) and I can now get rid of our broken DVD stand that you see in the front right. Hooray! So if you’re looking for little boxes like these, they’re $1.66/each at Michael’s right now. They even come with little cataloging slips to keep your goods sorted. Who wouldn’t get them?

Willow-y branches are from Pier 1 at $8/each.

I did good. 🙂

One Response to “Home and Life Improvements”

  1. Anonymous July 14, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    I love it and I voted to keep the vases they are awesome! They look great!

Leave a Reply

