The Mismatched Life

19 Aug

I finally did it! Last Friday I had a sudden stroke of motivation and I decided it was past time to paint the dining room.

Now, don’t laugh when you see this but…

Ta-da!

I know, I know. The colors don’t go together even using every bit of my imagination. As some of you may remember, I went through pretty much every shade of brown and gray before making a realization about myself.

I don’t like neutrals.

At least not on my walls. After I gave into this fact and made my peace with using another colorful color, I went to my one-stop shop for color inspiration (Creature Comforts) and looked up swatches that could be used with yellow. I fell in love with this one:

Since the first two are the dominant colors in my living room, I decided I liked the second two for the dining room and kitchen. I dashed off to Lowe’s and picked out a few sample containers for colors that looked similar. Since I didn’t have a print out, I went by memory. I tried a little of two colors: a minty color (that I wound up keeping) and a more teal color that’s actually dead on for the light teal tile above. I fell in love with the mint color, though. I stared at it up close, from a distance, looked at it with the yellow and told myself I had no reason to be so enamored with it. It clearly didn’t match. I walked off and came back in. I tried a little more of the teal. I went back to Lowe’s planning to get the teal paint but when I was asked I pointed to the mint color in my purse. It was my soul mate.

So that’s the story of how I wound up with mismatched color progression going down the hallway. Since finishing the job, I’ve thought a bit about how to make the transition a little more cohesive and was puzzled up until yesterday. I was gazing into the dining room, fondly admiring my work, and I thought to myself how much it looked like a minty milkshake. I pictured it in a tall, pretty glass with a retro, red-and-white striped straw sticking out and smiled. I’m going to accent it with reds and pinks. Since both the colors are also used in the living room, I think throwing in those pops of color will make things blend much better. I’m also going to make sure that the art work is very similar to that in the living room and maybe even from the same artists, if I can swing it.

So, this is my Milkshake Room. 🙂

2 Responses to “The Mismatched Life”

  1. Jessica Carlson August 19, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    I love it. Mint Green is my absolute favorite color.

  2. Intrepid Girl August 19, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    It’s one of my all-time favorites too. Along with corals and reds.

Leave a Reply

